Shaxi'1920x540'1

Yunnan, Guide de voyage

Le Yunnan, au Sud-Ouest de la Chine, est une des provinces les plus belles et les plus fascinantes du pays. La diversité de ses paysages, depuis la campagne luxuriante des rizières en terrasses des Hani jusqu'aux sommets majestueux de l'Himalaya, est le reflet de la diversité ethnique de ses habitants. 25 des 56 minorités ethniques de Chine se trouvent au Yunnan, où elles représentent 40% de la population. Ce mélange de cultures et de paysages fait du Yunnan un véritable creuset et une destination touristique populaire (bien qu'encore hors des sentiers battus).

Points forts et conseils de voyage

Monastère Ganden Sumsteling

Au temps jadis, la capitale du Yunnan, Kunming, était considérée comme la porte Sud de la Route de la Soie. Cest de là qu'aujourd'hui partent les touristes qui veulent voyager au Yunnan. Située sur un plateau entouré de montagnes et de lacs, Kunming jouit d'un climat tempéré toute l'année, ce qui lui a valu le surnom de “ville de l'éternel printemps”. C'est aussi une des villes les moins polluées de Chine.

Kunming a beaucoup à offrir aux touristes qui projettent de voyager dans d'autres parties de la Province du Yunnan, cela vaut la peine d'y passer une nuit en route. La merveille géologique que représente le Parc Géologique de la Forêt de Pierre, classé au patrimoine mondial de l' UNESCO est à une heure de route de la ville.

Depuis Kunming, beaucoup de visiteurs font route vers Dali, accessible en train à grande vitesse. Cette paisible ville de montagne était autrefois la capitale de l'ancien royaume de Dali, qui régnait sur cette région de Chine aux 9ème et 10ème siècles. La ville est célèbre pour son cadre pittoresque et son architecture traditionnelle de style Bai. Juste à l'extérieur de la vieille ville de Dali se trouve le Lac Erhai, que surplombe l'emblématique Temple des Trois Pagodes de Chongsheng.

Vieille Ville de Lijiang

L'ancienne ville de montagne de Lijiang est une autre destination populaire pour qui veut fuir le bruit et la fureur de la grande ville. Cette ancienne retraite alpine, tapie à l'ombre de l'imposante Montagne Enneigée du Dragon de Jade offre un certain nombre de sites historiques intéressants, comme les ruelles, vieilles de 800 ans, de la Vieille Ville de Lijiang, mais aussi une vie nocturne animée.

Située entre Dali et Lijiang l'Ancienne Ville de Shaxi est moins populaire que les deux autres, mais son intérêt architectural, qui remonte à l'époque où elle était une ville marchande sur la Route de la Soie et des Chevaux, en fait un endroit idéal pour s'imprégner de l'atmosphère de l'histoire du Yunnan, haute en couleurs.

Si l'héritage religieux de la Chine vous intéresse, reliques et temples bouddhistes foisonnent dans la ville de Shangri-La, qui se trouve près de la frontière avec le Tibet. L'un des sites les plus impressionants de Shangri-La est son majestueux Monastère Ganden Sumsteling, surnommé le “Palais du Petit Potala” à cause de sa ressemblance avec le célèbre monastère de Lhasa.

Ancienne Ville de Shaxi

Situé sur le Plateau Tibétain, le Yunnan offre aussi une foule de merveilles naturelles. Non loin de Shangri-La se trouve le Parc National Potatso, premier parc chinois à être internationalement reconnu, qui offre un aperçu exceptionnel des diverses facettes de l'éco-système alpin. Si vous recherchez la nature, c'est à la Gorge du Saut du Tigre que vous trouverez quelques uns des paysages les plus époustouflants de Chine et de nombreux sentiers de randonnée de renommée mondiale.

Aucun voyage dans le Yunnan n'est complet sans une visite aux célèbres Rizières en Terrasses des Hani. Ce vaste et magnifique site agricole existe depuis plus de 1 000 ans. Ses terrasses construites sur des collines en pente raide sont renommées pour offrir des vues emblématiques de toute beauté.

Se restaurer au Yunnan

La cuisine du Yunnan présente autant de diversité que sa population et modes de cuisson et saveurs varient en fonction de la région et du groupe ethnique. Cela dit, on ne peut guère se tromper au Yunann car quelle que soit la préparation, vous allez vous régaler. Beaucoup de plats populaires sont épicés et les champignons sont un ingrédient essentiel.

Rizières en Terrasses des Hani

À Kunming vous pouvez goûter la spécialité de la région connue sous le nom de “Crossing the Bridge Noodles”, délicieuse soupe de nouilles qui vous est apportée bouillante dans un caquelon en pierre avec sur un plateau des ingrédients frais comme de fines tranches de porc, des œufs de caille, des herbes et des légumes hachés menu que vous ajoutez au bouillon selon vos goûts.

Vie nocturne au Yunnan

À Kunming on peut assister au fascinant spectacle “Dynamic Yunnan” qui associe de somptueux costumes et une chorégraphie irréprochable à des danses et chansons folkloriques; le tout vous donnera un aperçu de la diversité culturelle du Yunnan.

La petite ville de montagne de Lijiang offre aussi aux oiseaux de nuit des activités amusantes. C'est une paisible ville alpine le jour mais à la tombée de la nuit, les anciennes ruelles de la vieille ville de Lijiang s'animent. Xinhua Street, en particulier, se distingue par ses bars dont beaucoup affichent des spectacles avec danses et chants exécutés par des artistes locaux de la minorité ethniques Naxi.

Meilleure période pour voyager au Yunnan

Le Yunnan a un climat particulier: sous l'influence à la fois d'une altitude élevée et de sa latitude Sud, la température y est clémente toute l'année. Les étés sont chauds mais la température n'excède pas 27°C. Les hivers sont plutôt doux, avec des températures moyennes comprises entre 8°C et 17°C; grâce à ce climat tempéré le Yunnan est beau toute l'année. Toutefois il pleut pas mal au printemps, l'été et l'automne sont donc les meilleures périodes pour se rendre au Yunnan. N'oubliez pas de prendre une veste légère quelle que soit la période de l'année car les soirée peuvent être fraîches.

Transport

Kunming, en tant que plus grande ville et capitale du Yunnan, est le point névralgique de la province. L'aéroport de Kunming est bien connecté à de nombreuses villes chinoises, y compris Shanghai et Pékin. On peut aussi se rendre à Kunming en train à grande vitesse. Une fois à Kunming, on peut se déplacer dans le Yunnan en voiture, en avion ou en train à grande vitesse.

Dernières nouvelles de nos Guides

28 juin 2018
À compter du 1er juillet 2018, la ligne à grande vitesse Kunming – Dali est officiellement ouverte, réduisant le temps de trajet de 5 heures à 112 minutes. Le prix du billet de seconde classe pour aller de Kunming à Dali est fixé à 145 RMB.

Itinéraires Populaires au Yunnan:


Personnaliser un circuit qui inclut cette destination

Formulaire de demande

C'est parti! Veuillez remplir ce formulaire afin que nous puissions commencer à vous aider à planifier votre aventure en Chine.

Nous répondrons à votre demande par email en un jour ouvrable

HAUT

Shaxi'1920x540'1

Yunnan Travel Guide

Yunnan, located in the southwest corner of China, is one of the country's most fascinating and beautiful provinces. The diversity of Yunnan's landscape, from the lush countryside of the Hani Rice Terraces to the towering peaks of the Himalayan Mountains, mirrors the ethnic diversity of its people. Twenty-five of China's 56 ethnic minorities can be found in Yunnan, where they make up around 40% of the population. This mix of varied cultures and landscapes makes Yunnan a veritable melting pot and an increasingly popular (but still off the beaten path) tourist destination.

Things to Do and Travel Advice

Ganden Sumtseling Monastery

In times gone by, Yunnan's capital city, Kunming, was considered a southern gateway to the Silk Road. Nowadays it is the perfect starting point for tourists who wish to travel through Yunnan province. Situated on a plateau and surrounded by mountains and lakes, Kunming has a temperate climate all year round, earning it the nickname "city of eternal spring." It is also one of the least polluted cities in China.

Kunming has plenty to offer tourists planning to travel elsewhere in Yunnan Province, and is certainly worth spending a night there on the way to Yunnan's other attractions. The geological wonder of Stone Forest Geological Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is an hour drive outside of the city.

From Kunming, many visitors head to Dali, which is accessible by high-speed train. This peaceful mountain town is the former capital of the ancient Kingdom of Dali, which ruled this part of China during the 9th and 10th centuries, and is known for its scenic setting and traditional Bai-style architecture. Just outside of Dali Old Town is the beautiful Erhai Lake, overlooked by Dali’s iconic Chongsheng Three Pagodas.

Lijiang Old Town

The ancient mountain town of Lijiang is another popular destination for those looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. This ancient alpine retreat lies in the shadow of the imposing Jade Dragon Snow Mountain and features a variety of interesting historical sites, like the 800-year old lanes of Lijiang Old Town, as well as a vibrant nightlife.

Situated between Dali and Lijiang, Shaxi Ancient Town is less visited than its two more popular counterparts, but it is full of authentic architecture dating back to its time as a main market town along the Tea Horse Road, making it an excellent location to soak in the atmosphere of Yunnan’s colorful history.

For those interested in China's religious heritage, Buddhist relics and temples abound in the city of Shangri-La, which lies near the Tibetan border. One of Shangri-La's most impressive structures is the majestic Ganden Sumsteling Monastery, nicknamed "Little Potala Palace" due to its resemblance to the famed monastic complex in Lhasa.

Shaxi Ancient Town

Situated on the Tibetan Plateau, Yunnan features a host of natural wonders as well. Not far from Shangri-La is Potatso National Park, China's first internationally recognized national park, which provides stunning insight into various facets of the alpine ecosystem. If nature is what you’re after, Tiger Leaping Gorge is home to some of China’s most dazzling landscapes and boasts a number of world-famous hiking trails.

No trip to Yunnan is complete without a visit to its famed Hani Rice Terraces. This extensive and magnificent agricultural site has been in operation for more than 1,000 years and is known for its steep and intricate terraced hills, which provide some of China’s most iconic and dazzling views.

Eating in Yunnan

Yunnan cuisine is as diverse as its population, and cooking styles and flavors vary by region and ethnic group. That said, it's hard to go wrong with food in Yunnan, as each culinary style is delicious in its own way. Many of Yunnan's most popular dishes are spicy, and mushrooms are an especially popular ingredient.

Yuanyang Hani Rice Terraces

While in Kunming, you can try the regional specialty known as "Crossing the Bridge Noodles," a delicious noodle soup that is brought to you boiling in a covered stone bowl, with a tray of fresh ingredients such as finely sliced pork, quail eggs, and sliced herbs and vegetables for you to add to the broth according to your tastes.

Nightlife in Yunnan

As the most populous city in Yunnan, Kunming features numerous bars and clubs to satisfy your nightlife needs. In addition, Kunming is home to the fascinating Dynamic Yunnan show, which features sensational costumes and choreography and incorporates traditional folk songs and dances, affording a unique glimpse into Yunnan’s cultural diversity.

The smaller mountain city of Lijiang also has many fun activities for night owls. A peaceful alpine town by day, the ancient lanes of Lijiang Old Town really come alive once the sun goes down. Xinhua Street, in particular, is known for its bars, many of which feature song and dance shows by local performers from the Naxi ethnic minority.

Best Time to Travel to Yunnan

Yunnan has a unique climate influenced by its high altitude and southern latitude, making it pretty comfortable all year round. Summers are warm but temperatures rarely exceed 27°C/80°F. Winters too are rather mild, with average temperatures ranging from 8°C/46°F to 17°C/63°F. Because of its temperate weather, Yunnan is lovely to visit at any time of the year. It does rain quite a bit in the spring, however, so summer or fall are probably the best times to travel there. Be sure to bring a light jacket no matter what time of year you go to Yunnan, as the evenings can get chilly.

Transportation

Kunming, as Yunnan's largest city and capital, is the transport hub for the province. The Kunming Airport is well connected to many of China's cities, including Shanghai and Beijing, and Kunming can be reached via high-speed train as well. Once in Kunming, it is most convenient to travel around Yunnan by car, plane, or high-speed train (As of July 2018, only the Kunming to Dali high-speed railway is open, but more routes are under construction).

Popular Yunnan Tours

Latest News from Our Guides

June 28, 2018
As of July 1, 2018, the Kunming to Dali high-speed railway is officially open, reducing the travel time between Kunming and Dali from over 5 hours to 112 minutes. The second-class ticket from Kunming to Dali is 145 RMB.

Customize a tour that includes a visit to this destination

Inquiry Form

Let's get started! Fill out this form so we can start helping you plan your adventure in China

We will respond to your inquiry by email within one working day

TOP